ADVERTISEMENT

Maverick is a fantastic movie!

Sorry, saw the previews during commercials that show his old fat face in that helmet and it blew it for me.

The only reason I would watch it is to see how closely they try to follow the original when he actually looked the part.

Reactions: EvilWayz
I am in disbelief that they filmed a movie that celebrates the military and American Exceptionalism.

Tom has some serious pull to get that past Hollywood censors.

It’s an awesome movie!!!!
I've been anticipating this film for 37 years. It better be good.

Reactions: JimGaster
I'm with you, Jim. It was fantastic. Better than the first one for me...more mature. BTW, for those of you who can: SEE THIS IN ScreenX! Freaking unbelievable flight scenes with screens taking up 270 degrees of your vision!!!

EDIT: If you can, I'd suggest IMAX for first viewing and ScreenX for a second. If only one or the other, ScreenX.

I've been anticipating this film for 37 years. It better be good.
maverick-top-gun.gif

• Haha
Reactions: Dr. Curmudgeon
My wife, older son, and I saw this over the holiday weekend. Definitely recommend it. It has the typical implausible plot threads you see in most action movies, but the flight sequences, special effects, etc were incredible. And, like the OP stated, it was a pro-military and pro-America movie.

Reactions: IrishPokerDog
Normally not a huge Tom Cruise fan, but I thought the movie was fantastic. No unnecessary sleazy crap, language was pretty tame considering the first movie and the flight scenes were awesome. Of course the story line was a little far fetched, but nothing approaching Fast and Furious 19 and counting.

Would highly recommend for any aviation fan.

I haven't seen the movie yet so for all of you that have please tell me one thing, is Maverick still flying the same F-14 Tomcat that he flew in the first film ?