ADVERTISEMENT

So, ummm that new staff recruiting bump that always happens...

If I tried to tell a judge the basis for my opinion was "a highly regarded lawyer we both know" he'd laugh at me. Then I'd get sued by my client for being a buffon.

Yet you lazy bastards keep using as your authority what some unknown poster on a message board when you're on the internet and can research the answer.
I am not a lawyer. Or claim to be an expert on recruiting rules. And besides, the recruiting rules are not in question.

The recruiting rules for the number of scholarship are pretty plain and pretty simple; every program can take up to 25 guys every year, including transfers. A program can add to that any left over from the previous year, including non-qualifiers from the previous year. Limited to 85 total when fall semester begins.

to wit;

"The NCAA restricts football teams to 85 total scholarships, or "counters," at any given time, as well as an annual limit of 25 "initial counters" (Bylaw 15.5.6.1).

The concept of limiting initial counters exists to essentially force schools into bringing in a responsible amount of players each year, thereby limiting the avenues for schools to seek a competitive edge by pushing out current student-athletes under potentially dubious circumstances to make room for newcomers.

To that effect, in addition to limiting schools to 25 initial counters, the NCAA also restricted schools to signing a maximum of 25 players per class to a national letter of intent or an institutional offer of financial aid between Dec. 1 and May 31 (Bylaw 13.9.2.3)."​

The only question on the table is what is our number? I presented a detailed case the number is 28. No one has presented a detailed case why that is not the number, other than pointing out McE said we are going to take "28 and maybe 30."

Last edited: